Curveball

Since no project can be complete without a couple twists and turns, we simply cannot leave them out here. And friends…this was quite the curveball.

One week after closing on our house, and four days before moving out of our rental condo, I woke up and took a pregnancy test, mostly so that it could tell me that I was definitively *not* pregnant and I could spare myself from being distracted by the highly unlikely possibility all day long while I was RIDICULOUSLY busy packing and such.

This is what I saw:

bfp 1

A quick glance at the instructions and my surprisingly quick recollection of that Eric Church song Two Pink Lines informed me that this was an…unexpected…result. But, knowing pretty much nothing about pregnancy tests and thinking it *could* be a false positive, I took another one. Made sure it was different brand, just to spice it up a bit.

bfp 2

PLOT TWIST.

Told my mom around lunch time when she came to help, told Kyle that night when we were at the house, told the rest of my family that night (even skyped an aunt and uncle, who gave wonderful, very appropriate reactions that I will be forever grateful to them for), and everyone else as soon as we saw them after that. (Yeah yeah yeah, you’re “supposed” to wait till the end of the first trimester. Here’s the thing: I’m VERY heart-on-my-sleeve, cannot hide anything, and am an absolutely miserable liar. I have no clue how mommies hide hyperactive emotions and bloating and all the very necessary naps for a full three months.) Everyone was so supportive and wonderful, we couldn’t have asked for anything better! We are so blessed!

I then spent three months sleeping, eating, and occasionally bursting into tears without warning or reason. Strictly to prep Kyle for having an infant, of course.

I’ve been so helpful with the house!

Okay, not so much. But I’ve been growing a baby just fine.

Leave a Reply

