Daniel’s Bow Tie Pasta with Tomato, Arugula, and Mozzarella

Wow, what a delicious recipe! This reminds me of a dish we grew up with that my mom would make in the dead of summer with just a few tomatoes, garlic, pine nuts, and angel hair pasta. It’s on her blog, recipe here. (Yes, basically the only reason I have photos on my blog is because my mom takes them for her blog, then sends them to me to put on my blog, but I don’t have time, skills, or ability to take all of my own photos, and when we’re making all these things together it just doesn’t make a lot of sense to take twice the time to stop at multiple points during a recipe in order to get twice the photos, so STOP JUDGING ME! Okay…sorry…so glad that’s off my chest…) Apparently Mom’s recipe is supposed to have artichoke hearts in it? If I had a jar I needed to use up I’d throw them in, but it’s really good without them. No need to forgo making it if you are down a jar of artichoke hearts.

IMG_9310-P

Anyway, back to *this* recipe. I’m not a huge fan of arugula personally (I know I know, you can’t believe it, I’m really missing out, yada yada yada, just stuff it. Maybe I’ll grow into it someday. Yeah, go with that one.), but who am I to question Daniel Boulud? Then again the man does recommend organs for human consumption… I’ve come to enjoy arugula a little more since spending a few months in England. They put “rocket” on everything.

I’m not really kidding, it’s everywhere.

Mom and I whipped up this dish one week when I got a little bunch of mild-smelling arugula in my CSA box (which I’m loving!!) and knew we had to do something with it. And it was not going in a salad. I’m just…I’m just not there yet. Thankfully we had a cute little helper who makes everything just a little sweeter.

IMG_9349-P

IMG_9311-P

The recipe includes a “make your own basil-infused olive oil” step that we eliminated because I had some basil olive oil already. No, not because I sit around my house all day making infused oils, but because I’d picked some up in January when we were visiting my aunt and uncle in Temecula, CA. The Temecula Olive Oil Company is a favorite stop of ours in Old Town Temecula. They offer all sorts of products, and the tasting room is the beeeeeeeest. Sit around and sip oils and vinegars? Mkayyesplease.

Another thing we did differently: I believe the recipe officially suggests peeling the skins off of the raw baby cherry tomatoes (we need baby cherry tomatoes because regular cherry tomatoes are just unfathomably large…?). That absolutely did not happen.

IMG_9320-P

Daniel suggests that this recipe will make four main-course servings or six starter servings. We definitely got six main-course servings out of it, and we are not light eaters, my friends. Use a gargantuan bowl to mix it all together. You won’t be sorry. Actually, you’ll probably be sorry if you don’t.

IMG_9343-P

Leave a Reply

