Almond Flour Drop Biscuits

I’ve had The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook for several years and have made a few things out of it, but when spelt is an available option, almond flour is less appealing. However, in an active effort to waste less this year, I’ve been searching for ways to use up the almond meal I’m left with after making almond milk. Between that, a request for take-out pizza for dinner (to which I’m allergic), and a lack of bread in the house resulting in a much-craved sandwich being out of the question, out came the cookbook and my gumption the other night, and these biscuits appeared on my plate.

Now let’s be clear, they’re not the flaky goodness your grandma made growing up. These are different in texture, but they have their own kind of appeal. I had mine with a fried egg and some sautéed kale, and I really enjoyed the bit of sweetness they brought. The boys thought they were great, even after their requested pizza! They’re really versatile, too. You could easily sub coconut oil, increase the sweetness, add in some orange zest and dried cranberries, or chocolate chips (which I maybe tried…this child within me has zero self-control, okay?!), or fresh berries, then maybe dust with coarse sugar before baking…all of a sudden you have gluten-free scones!

I love that they’re so filling. Three is too many for me, which is saying something! I can eat one as soon as I wake up in the morning (a necessity these days…baby girl must burn through whatever I store up for overnight because we wake up grumbly!) then have a banana or a little something else at breakfast time with my boy, and I’m actually full till lunch. UNHEARD OF around here. I also don’t mind that my son loves them (at least when they’re chocolate studded) and I can feel confident that he’s actually getting a little protein punch with his sugar.

The cookbook author, Elana Amsterdam, has a helpful blog that you might want to peruse. She posted a very similar biscuit recipe on there that I’m going to try out next time.

 

Classic Drop Biscuits

Adapted from The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook by Elana Amsterdam
Makes: 8

Ingredients:

  • 2 ½ cups blanched almond flour
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, combine the almond flour, salt, and baking soda. In a medium bowl, whisk together the oil, syrup, eggs, and vinegar. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry until thoroughly combined. Drop the batter onto the baking sheet in eight equal mounds about 2-inches apart.

3. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until golden brown or a toothpick inserted into the center of the biscuit comes out clean. Let the biscuits cool briefly on the baking sheet before serving warm. (If making scones with chocolate chips, let them cool on a baking sheet for longer…you may otherwise wind up with fewer taste buds than you had before…)

 

Any great almond flour/meal recipes from your kitchen? I’d love to try them out!

One thought on “Almond Flour Drop Biscuits

  1. Pingback: No Waste | Almond Pulp | BLUE BUNGALOW

Leave a Reply

