Homemade | Granola

About a year and a half ago I showed up to meet my darling new friend for a walk. We knew each other by sight and had spoken a few times before, but we really became friends when I was in labor with Nolan. I went into our midwife’s office, she was there for an appointment (due about a month after me) and recognised me, and wrote me a sweet Facebook message wishing us well with the labor and new little one. Before I knew it, I had another best friend! This girl has blessed me immeasurably over the past couple of years, and I’m so thankful for the gift she’s been.

On this particular morning, when we met for a walk, she sweetly shoved a half-full gallon-size baggie of something in my hand. She’s a giver, just little stuff, all the time, and always super thoughtful and generous. It was her granola, and it was one of the very first gifts she ever gave me.

Guys, of all the gifts that keep on giving, this is seriously a biggie. One handful out of that bag and I was completely hooked on the lightly sweet, nutty GREATNESS I was noshing. I boldly asked for the recipe, sure it was a deep family secret but willing to risk the ask anyway. Just like she does with everything else, she generously, selflessly gave me the recipe. It’s gained a permanent place in my weekly cooking/prep day because when we run out, it’s really bad news.

She’s always downplaying her “domestic skills” and seriously every time she does I want to take her by the shoulders, look her straight in the eye, and say, “Your granola changed my life. Hush.”

Also great when taking dinner to new mamas, along with a quart of yogurt and some fruit!

This, my dear readers (all three of you), is Andrea Springer’s granola recipe, shared with her permission.

Preheat oven to 300F. Prepare two cookie sheets with parchment paper. Put four cups of rolled oats in a big ol’ bowl.

granola1

Add 1 cup each slivered or sliced almonds, chopped pecans, and chopped walnuts, ½ c. unsweetened coconut flakes (or more…you know…if you mismeasure or something…), and ¼ c. flax or chia seeds.

granola2

Mix well.

granola3

Add 1 t. salt and 1 ½ t. cinnamon. Again, mix well.

IMG_5728

Combine following ingredients: ½ c. coconut oil, ½ c. maple syrup, 1 t. vanilla.

granola4

Add liquids to dry mixture, and mix thoroughly.

IMG_5729

Divide oats mixture evenly between the two prepared cookie sheets, spreading as evenly as possible.

IMG_5730 (1)

Bake 20 minutes, then rotate the pans and bake another 20 minutes until toasty and maybe a little golden, if that’s your jam. After you remove the granola from the oven add ½ c. raisins. (I condensed pans in the midst of other cooking, so this is both pans on one sheet.)

IMG_5732 (1)

Cool completely, then store. I like to store it in jars  🙂  How cute is that?

IMG_5733

Go. Make granola. Be happy and live a fruitful life.

Andi’s Granola

Ingredients:

  • 4 c. rolled oats
  • 1 c. sliced or slivered almonds
  • 1 c. chopped pecans
  • 1 c. chopped walnuts
  • ½ c. unsweetened coconut flakes
  • ¼ c. flax or chia seeds (or a combination)
  • 1 ½ t. ground cinnamon
  • 1 t. salt
  • ½ c. coconut oil, in liquid form
  • ½ c. maple syrup
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • ½ c. raisins

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300F. Prepare two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Combine oats, nuts, coconut, seeds, cinnamon, and salt in a large mixing bowl, mixing well.
  3. Combine oil, syrup, and vanilla, and add to oats mixture. Mix well.
  4. Divide mixture between the two prepared baking sheets, and spread evenly. Bake for 20 minutes, then rotate the pans and bake another 20 minutes, or until as toasty as desired.
  5. Remove from oven and scatter raisins across warm granola. Cool completely, and store in airtight containers.
One thought on “Homemade | Granola

  1. Pingback: Homemade | Yogurt | BLUE BUNGALOW

Leave a Reply

